Adjusted Recipe

Because it turned out so well I thought I’d share my recipe w/ ya. I’m not going to post the main one… for one thing I might have already on here lol. Found out its really my aunts recipe and not my Nana’s like I thought. I’m assuming she wouldn’t mind it being on here (hoping not if it already is lol) but still…

Anyways here’s my Dairy Free, Whole Wheat version of the Texas Hot Cocoa Cake!

1/4 lb Earth Balance margarine (or other dairy free version)
1/2 cup liquid shortening
1 cup water
3 tbsp powdered dark chocolate
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 cups sugar
1/2 cup almond milk soured (add 1 tbsp vinegar & let sit a few min)
2 eggs
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp almond extract

Melt margarine, shortening, water and cocoa in saucepan, bring to a boil and stir. Sift sugar & flour in a large bowl. Pour liquid mix over dry, beat until smooth. Add soured almond milk, eggs, baking soda, cinnamon and almond extract . Mix well. Pour into pan and bake at 400 for 35 to 40 min.

Note: If possible (please please please) we’ll go back to using real butter, including in this recipe.. wouldn’t be dairy free anymore lol, but it doesn’t really have to be for those of you/us who don’t have a milk issue.  The almond milk is staying though… its good in cake.


And as for the liquid shortening… We typically use sunflower oil, but can’t find it (still packed somewhere lol) at the moment so we used olive oil.

I also ended up substituting almond extract for the vanilla in the Wilton’s Buttercream recipe. Also turned out very good.

Now completely off topic, but too cute not to share:

Yes, he’s still got a bit of a cough. This was the first time he did at all today (hasn’t much), I think he got choked up when he sneezed lol. Lots of little smiles though… I’m gonna keep trying for one of those big grins that I love.

2 thoughts on “Adjusted Recipe

  1. Marni says:

    Mmmmmmm… Now I want sweets. Whats new though? Heheh

Leave a Reply

