The Novena…

I’ve alluded to the whole novena to St. Francis Xavier before my first TZ trip, but just realized I never actually told the story. Don’t worry, its not a very long one.

My Sophomore year at LCU I signed up to go on a mission trip to Tanzania.. If you’ve been reading awhile, or if you know me personally lol, you know that already. Long story short though, I got so distracted by other events that year that I did nothing to prepare for the trip during the first semester and was shocked when Amy approached me that January. I really thought the trip was out. But it wasn’t… so all the sudden I had very little time to raise the money.

I don’t remember too many details of all of that, but I do remember worrying quite a bit… I looked up patron saints to see if there was any that could help me pray. I found two saints listed as patron saints of missionaries.  One was St. Francis Xavier.  So over the next 9 days I prayed a novena… and at the end of it I heard from my Parish, they’d granted my request and were helping out w/ the trip. Not the full amount, but still. I was thrilled. Things were coming together.. and obviously I did manage it although I don’t really remember how lol.

That year we had a much larger team than the next few.  We were all from different schools too (like several mini teams from several schools). So before heading over we were scheduled to have a layover in Amsterdam where we would meet up and get to know each other a little.

Honestly 4 days in Amsterdam is 4 days too many for me lol. There were a few things/places I enjoyed seeing, but still. But that’s beside the point.

So one of those 4 days we were walking up and down the streets, pretty much aimlessly just randomly picking which way to go. At one point we stopped in front of one (of many) of the Churches. I saw the sign and my jaw about dropped.

That’s right, St. Francis Xavier.

I still can’t help but smile when I think of it.

Yes I do have pics, but I can’t get to them right now.

5 thoughts on “The Novena…

  1. deltaflute says:

    How cool is that? I actually live relatively close to the San Xavier Mission. It’s named after St. Francis Xavier. If you want, I can show you some pictures of it. It’s a church built during the Baroque period.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      That would be cool, thanks! I actually hadn’t heard of that mission despite looking up all the ones in several states around us (I know I missed some lol) when I was in college. We talked about taking a vacation one year and I wanted to do something like that. I don’t remember where we ended up going, but no… LOL. One of the places on my list is actually just down the street from me now. I still haven’t been 😦

  2. kim says:

    interesting. stuff like that happens to me a lot too.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      🙂 I know I’ve had other things that have happened like this, but this is the main one that stands out to me. Is why when I saw Zavier on the baby name list I just couldn’t believe it. I hadn’t thought about it as an option.

  3. […] Back to those annoying groc trips.. Have to smile when I think about them now despite all that.  I got home just in time to hear about the white smoke. We turned on the tv and watched until the Pope came out and everything.  Very excited… And of course since then there’s been all the talk of which St Francis (which granted I haven’t really be on today so this is going by right after) he chose his name for… which had me all teary eyed lol.  Between ZJ being named after St Francis Xavier and the novena.. […]

Leave a Reply

