BF & SIDS

I found this last week thanks to The Leaky B@@B via Facebook and just had to share…  I’m not surprised, at all, but I was a bit surprised that I hadn’t heard it before.

Apparently breastfeeding reduces the risk of SIDS?

This article from AAP (American Academy of Pediatrics) News talks about a study from Germany that showed a 50% risk reduction by breastfeeding.  It also mentions that some countries already advise breastfeeding in their campains to prevent SIDS.  I need to go back and reread the article, didn’t see if we were one of them or not (because while I have seen it promoted here of course, I have not seen it promoted for this reason).

I did miss it… and I love the way they put it…

Given the weight of evidence from recent meta-analyses and a plausible biological mechanism, it seems somewhat surprising that breastfeeding has not been included in the American Academy of Pediatrics and United Kingdom Department of Health SIDS prevention recommendations.

Coming from one of their own articles…

But yeah. Has a couple interesting theories as to why as well, but I already linked the article and don’t want to copy the whole thing over in pieces so if you’re interested, those are towards the end.

2 thoughts on “BF & SIDS

  1. kim says:

    yeah i have heard that.

Leave a Reply

