Had It…

No seriously… I have. I was really hoping today would go better, but it was probably the worst yet. I told Baba after Mass that we are not going w/ him the Sundays that he directs.

It wasn’t 5 minutes after Mass started that Kalila started in. Another family joined us in the cryroom… 2 little boys that were very well behaved and Kalila jumped up and went to talk… got them going, so their mom was trying to settle them down, I was trying to settle her down… She started arguing with me and into the restroom we went. We walked back in and another family was in there… She has a crush on their little boy so when I tried to get her to continue past him to our seat she started screaming.. Lots and lots of screaming. Back into the bathroom where she continued screaming and arguing with me. It was awful. I got our stuff and went outside to the truck (sat in the back) where she continued screaming and throwing a fit! Hit her brother during all that. After awhile we both calmed down enough (yeah I was about to lose it at that point) to go back inside and sit in the foyer… Mass was already over half way over by that point…. and she started in again, trying to run around (nearly knocked over the candles a couple times) and rolling on the floor not listening to me. So back outside we went. Just sat outside the door and made her sit down against the wall. I was so mad…

We’ve been working on this whole her not listening to me thing… And for the most part she’s gotten a lot better. I don’t know what it is though she always misbehaves there and its always much worse than anywhere else. At least when Baba’s there she’s a little better (not completely but still). This was ridiculous.

Then we went over to the MCC to visit like we always do.. She started playing hide and seek with the kids and scared me half to death. Lunch was slightly better, she argued a lot and kept getting down but she ate and didn’t scream or anything. Was obvious that she needed a nap though. Thankfully she was pretty easy to get down just now. And since she is I need to get going on stuff I need done. I really hope she wakes up in a better mood, but just in case…

6 thoughts on “Had It…

  1. Angela says:

    How do you feel about her maybe being occupied with a coloring book during Mass? I know some parents are not for that but maybe if it was Mass related then she could still be learning while doing something that keeps her calm. Also maybe ask her why. It almost sounds like she is stressed with having people her age around that she can’t interact with. I hope you all can get it to work!

    • Mama Kalila says:

      I have thought about doing that (have done it w/ ones not about Mass)… even looked at getting books/colouring books geared to that topic the last time we went to the bookstore I used to work at, only prob was most of them were expensive and I don’t like giving them my money (long story).. plus all the ones about the Mass are pretty different than ours lol.

      We’ve tried taking things for her to read, colour, even quiet toys.. None of it works anyway. She chucks it as soon as she sees the others. If they have toys she tries to take them. Today she had a counting book…

  2. christy says:

    That is a tough one. Whenever Porgie and Izzy are bad in public, we usually just leave. Of course, you wouldn’t want to leave your husband behind!

  3. kim says:

    sofia has good days at mass and bad days. lately she has been ok but i am the type that brings her food. we HAVE to sit in the crying room.

    if it makes you feel any better we had to get a babysitter for a long time and leave her home. She would not calm down. now she is better.

    the care of infants and children under 7 are valid reasons to miss mass if you have to or leave etc…

    she will get better.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Yeah I won’t do that… I still remember getting my backside beat for eating at Church as a kid, the lesson stuck lol.

      I wish we could get out of the cry room, but its gone badly when we’ve tried sitting w/ everyone else… The foyer usually ends up being the best bet but it didn’t even work this Sunday.

      And I do know that its a valid reason to miss… I try and remind myself of that when we do… but doesn’t make me feel any better about it.

Leave a Reply

