Changing Gears

Well I was gonna have a friend do a guest post today, but that didn’t work out.

BF and travel.  Keep in mind I haven’t really gone anywhere big while nursing… and I’ve been very lucky.

We had very few trips when Kalila was EBF… the farthest being 5 hours or so away when my mom got sick.  Zavier’s already been on more and most of them have been that far or farther. Really I think the reason we’ve been so lucky with them is that we went at night and both kids (at least at a young age since Kalila’s so not like this anymore) sleep well. It also helps that heading out to West TX we have regular stops along the way where I can feed the baby if I need to.  We only had to make a random feeding stop once w/ Zavier (so far). There was once w/ Kalila that she was so distraught over the trip (was younger than Zavier, on a shorter trip during the day) that I climbed in back and nursed her while she was in her seat. Prob not the best idea but the only thing we could think of at the time lol.

Obviously no idea what Zavier will be like on trips when he’s older. It was easy with Kalila though. She knew to ask on breaks.

And yeah… that’s the extent of my experience while traveling. I haven’t had to deal with airlines and little ones yet. They haven’t left the state (or country) yet. Just little (or not so little, going back home is kinda a ways away lol) road trips. No complaints though, it is easy when we need to go.

8 thoughts on “Changing Gears

  1. Annette Fay says:

    Yes, I can imagine it being hard to travel with two children (infants). I only have one, and our traveling has significantly declined. I’m visiting from the Friday blog hop. I have to come back and read more… Have a great weekend!

    • Mama Kalila says:

      🙂 Not two infants lol. My oldest is almost 3 now… and its not any harder (thankfully and so far) to travel with her and the youngest than it was her as a baby. I’ll try to stop by your blog later today. I love the little things like the blog hops.

  2. Ami says:

    Shiana was 10 months old the first long trip that she went on. She has been an excellent traveler. Keylan not so much..lol. He HATES his carseat with a passion. But have figured out that if he is swaddled in then he is a much happier camper. But from El Paso to Alabama he did better then I thought he would. Have the same trip planned for Christmas, let see what it is like with a 3 and half year old and an 8 month old.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Wow that is a long trip! Our longest so far has just been to Van Horn… Thankfully Zavier is good w/ his carseat as long as his sister is sitting next to him lol.

  3. Rae says:

    Just wanted to say that I love your BF posts. You may feel less confident than you could be, but your thoughts are great! I think that car trips with little ones are always tough, no matter how you feed them!

  4. kim says:

    my little ones always had difficulty in the car on long trips

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Awww I’m sorry. We really don’t go on too many so I’m sure that’s part of what helps here. And our biggest trip has a lot of great places to stop (well one disappeared as I learned the hard way during my pg lol) so that helps too. Everyone gets a break every hour or two.

Leave a Reply

