I May Just Change My Mind About Storms…

Seriously. I hate storms. Ok, maybe hate is a strong word and probably the wrong one to use here… I’m scared to death of storms.  Yesterday the sky turned this yellow/orange colour and I got this awful sinking feeling in my stomach. Baba came home and told me w/out telling me exactly why it happened (trying not to set me off). I already knew… hadn’t seen the news but still. Thankfully pretty far away.

Anyways… Despite all that I may just change my mind about them. Not that they freak me out any less. But they seem to be helping us out here.  The power went off… and when it came on Baba’s computer had fixed itself (I think he said it was the sound or something like that).  And more importantly… so did our drier!  I went to put something in to air dry like we’ve been doing with it for the last, what, 3 months now?  And when I turned it on… it buzzed at me!!!! I jumped. I got excited. I tried not to get excited because it might not mean anything… I set the drier to dry and guess what? It did! And then I washed and dried another load.. and now another… I’m about to do another. All without taking them to Gido’s or hanging them outside (because its still wet and prob will rain again).  Do you know how happy that makes me?

10 thoughts on “I May Just Change My Mind About Storms…

  1. sallie says:

    What does it mean when the sky turns yellow and orange?

    • Mama Kalila says:

      I don’t know if it always means that… was more the feeling that came along with it that made me know (or at least more than the odd colour did) but there was a tornado across town somewhere.

  2. deltaflute says:

    I saw yesterday all the rain back East and thought of you. I hope you didn’t get to experience heavy flooding.

    As for the drier, ours goes a little nutty sometimes too. I unplug it and then plug it back in. I think there’s a short or something. Could be what’s happened to your dryer.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      It can happen (has before) but I hadn’t heard of any recently. I could be wrong, am pretty sheltered here lol. A few days ago when it hit us (our neighborhood) pretty hard it looked like it might, the wind was crazy… and it filled the back yard pretty good. I had to go out to get those towels and ended up soaked in a really short period of time, both from the rain and the water I had to wade through.

  3. Keith says:

    A malfunctioning dryer (not drying well, not always working, whatever may be the case) is definitely something I would be very careful about. A short in the wiring can quickly create a very dangerous situation. If someone with electrical knowledge hasn’t already looked at it, I’d be hesitant to use it. May never be a problem, but not worth the risk. That’s just me though.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      It has been looked at. Nothing could be found. :-/

      • KIM says:

        oh my! my dryer has been acting up for a YEAR! which is partly why I don’t do cloth diapers here. Actually both the washer and dryer both from SEARS take alternate turns acting up so I woulod never have any clean diapers seriously.

        We have called SEARS about 20 times…they come out look at it and say its fixed then the next week one or the other goes berzerk. apparently though there is a fuse issues with the dryer. Like we have to keep replacing the fuses all the time. we got a whole new outlet professionially installed there and it still does it..so its not the wiring i have no idea what it is. But you could try the fuses next time it acts up. and like yours, the few times there have been power serges here and black outs then the dryer comes back on again or that comes back to life again by itself.

        I have never had this problem before we moved here.

      • Mama Kalila says:

        Wow! Yeah I don’t know that I could do them with a washer not working… I know some people wash them by hand… and I really don’t mind a little hand washing, but diapers it just seems tedious. On the other hand, I really dislike disposables lol… all the leak issues we had before and both kids have reacted to them… so I might just attempt it even if my washer was out. I really don’t know. Thankfully not in that position. Hanging them out really isn’t bad, honestly I’m gonna stick with that when its not in the middle of a storm lol. I like that its easier on them (less wear and tear) and all the other big sun dried advantages.

        That’s really odd about it going on and off like that for yall. We called the Sears guy and he was going to charge and arm and a leg to come out and just look at it. We had a friend do it instead.

  4. christy says:

    AWESOME! I love when random broken things suddenly start working. YAY!

Leave a Reply

