Similac

I posted this yesterday on FB, not sure why I didn’t here…. just forgot too.

For those of you who use formula and might not have seen this (pretty hard to miss at this point, but just in case).. Similac has had a recall. They found beetles in some of it.

News Article – I just used the one posted latest from one of my FB groups… is actually an amusingly written piece. My one issue with it is that it states that the FDA says the beetles won’t hurt people, which is true but misleading.  Every other piece (and the company themselves) has stated that the beetles could cause tummy upsets for the babies and cause them to stop eating (which in a baby is a major health risk).

Anyways I really hope this doesn’t affect any of you.  It has at least one of my FB friends though.

16 thoughts on “Similac

  1. kim says:

    we do use similac. i have tried looking up the recall numbers on our container but the website is down here and the phone number just rings. to be safe, i’ll just throw it away.

    claire already consumed it last friday and she seems/ed fine so i guess she is ok. she only had one bottle.

    but seriously, how does bugs/beetles get inside formula? thats gross.

    i guess if you look at it another way though, beetles are a food source for many babies in other parts of the world so i guess i am not that worried…if it was a deadly substance i would be very mad.

    but it seems there are recalls all the time on formulas…every baby i had i remember at some point there was a recall on some formula. these ppl that make/market it need to be more careful.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      I can’t say I’ve heard of beetles being a food source for babies anywhere. People yeah… but the babies in those circumstances would be completely breastfed. Or eating pureed beetles after a certain age? J/K (it’d be finger food). Sorry off sense of humour here.

      They do need to hold themselves to a higher standard, I agree with you there. The babies who are on it need the stuff to survive. Allowing a certain amount of insect parts per amount may be fine for us adults (still absolutely disgusting), but for babies… That doesn’t cut it w/ me.

      The problem with throwing yours out is that if its part of the recall you won’t be getting your money back like you would if you sent it back. I def wouldn’t use it again, but you might hold on to it just in case it is one of the contaminated ones you can get your replacement covered.

  2. Stacy says:

    I saw a lot of comments from ppl on the CNN article about their babies throwing up every time they ate or refusing to eat. It looks like a lot of parents were dealing with this and just assuming their baby had some sort of stomach flu. It makes me even happier that I never used any formula with Layla, but I also understand that there are some legitimate reasons that some have to use the stuff.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Awww. Yeah that was the exact thing they said could happen from it. So sad… And yeah makes me glad we don’t use formula either… but like you said, some babies do truly need it, is why I have issues w/ these companies. They really should do better for those children (ie no disgusting bug parts, better ingredients, etc).

  3. deltaflute says:

    I saw something about this this morning and thought of making a posting about it, but maybe I should just send out an e-mail or something to warn people. I have a few friends who formula feed.

    Yeah, glad I breastfeed. This is only another nail in the coffin of formula feeding. Although, don’t get me wrong. I know with certain conditions babies need to be formula fed. I meant in the sense of confirming why I didn’t formula feed.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      I didn’t even think about emailing, but honestly I don’t think I have the addresses of any friends who formula feed and most of my family’s kids are older now.

  4. Deborah says:

    My daughter still won’t latch, and I can’t pump enough to bottle feed milk exclusively, so I supplement (heavily) with formula. I also use Similac, although I’ve been using the liquid ready-to-feed, which isn’t affected by the recall. We are switching to the powder, though–we started with the liquid because it was easier and we kept expecting to stop needing it, but it’s SO much more expensive–and I’d bought but not opened my first container of the powder. The Similac website was incredibly slow, taking over 15 minutes to load a page, but I assume it’s due to so many people trying to check. I think almost all of the large containers of Similac Advance, the most popular kind, are affected. Just take it back to the store you bought it from; they’ll give you a refund. I exchanged mine for more of the ready-to-feed stuff today. Looks like we’ll be sticking with that until this is all straightened out!

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Aww… I’ve seen several people complain about how hard this was to deal with. From what I saw online they were telling people to hold on to it and send it back to them… That’s great that taking it to the store worked for you… is a more logical idea lol. I’ll let Kim know that idea in case she didn’t see your comment (she’s the only other one on here so far that uses it, is having this problem).

      As for the latch, have you seen an LC, gotten a shield (sometimes those help), or anything like that. Supplements can also help with pumping output but it really is hard to exclusively pump… I have a friend on here who did it for quite awhile (had to stop due to allergies) and I’m amazed.

      • Deborah says:

        I’ve seen a few LCs and tried the shield. The problem is that it isn’t that Alexa *can’t* latch–it’s that she won’t. She will if she’s upset and wants comfort, but not when she’s hungry. She’ll even eat if she wants comfort and it happens to be time to pump, too. But if she’s upset because she’s hungry, she’ll just scream around the nipple. She won’t latch onto the shield any more than onto the bare breast. I think she just got used to the bottle in the NICU and afterwards, when she didn’t seem to be able to latch, and that’s what she wants to eat from now. It probably doesn’t help that I tend to alternate between “I need to pump NOW” explosive let downs and “you’re going to have to work really hard for this” situations where I just can’t get letdown. There doesn’t seem to be anything in between for me. But my supply seems to be increasing little by little, possibly thanks to mother’s milk tea and fenugreek.

      • Mama Kalila says:

        Aww.. I was afraid of that happening with mine, one of the reasons we held off bottles. In the NIQU I know its a diff situation all together. Hang in there, I’ve heard of people pulling through that… and the diff supplements can help a ton with production. Have you tried oatmeal?

      • Deborah says:

        Hadn’t heard of oatmeal helping … may need to start eating some. There is a medication–metformin–that I was on to help me ovulate when we were trying to get pregnant, and apparently it increases milk production too. I’m thinking once I’m back in Egypt I may go back on it. I don’t need a prescription there and it’s dirt cheap too (even from trusted pharmacies).

      • Mama Kalila says:

        Yup.. Oatmeal can really help… have you looked at http://www.kellymom.com – there’s a whole list of things that can help up production and another of things that can dry you up.

  5. kim says:

    walmart takes everything back. i never have a problem with taking stuff back there…i bought it there so i guess i could take it back and get 21.95 back. thats an idea.

    oh i meant more or less toddlers do actually finger food themselves bugs/grubs/ stuff like that in other countries. i am sure they eat plenty of things we never would that i can’t even imagine.

    regardless, i wouldn’t want any baby having to digest larvae in their formula. poor babies.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Oh I know I was just teasing… I told you I have an off sense of humour… I couldn’t help but picture standing in the kitchen blending up beetles and such. Obviously I was tired and had the headache coming on so it brought it out even more 😀

  6. Similac Team says:

    If you’re having trouble getting through to our Similac recall consumer hotline, we have added a new, additional phone # for you: 888-376-2054. Please give us a call, 24/7. We’d like to hear from you! ~Similac Team

Leave a Reply

