Sad Sad Sad

Have you ever had one of those moments when someone who shares your beliefs (in some or fashion) does something that is just absolutely 100% wrong in the name of it and it just shames you even though it wasn’t you and you wouldn’t do something like that in a million years? I just had one of those moments.

Someone posted a link on Facebook to this post -> People Suck <- about the reaction by some Intactivists to a mama who just lost her son after a circumcision. The baby had another condition that is listed as cause of death, but either way there is no reason to bash this poor woman. Even if it had been 100% from the circ… She’s grieving. She lost her son. Good grief people that’s just tacky.  You don’t have to agree with what they did, but bite your tongue and move on she’s got enough to deal with.

Sorry that just upset me. Gonna hug my son now…

6 thoughts on “Sad Sad Sad

  1. Salma says:

    You are wonderful and kind just for putting this out there. I have had this experience a few times, and I hate having to be a jerk and simply tell said person to shut up.

    Losing a child is hard enough, that sucks.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      I don’t know if wonderful or kind really covers it… I really don’t feel that way right now, and esp didn’t last night. Those people really upset me.

      And I’m sorry you’ve gone through that

  2. Angela says:

    Some people really shock the crap out of me. WHO in their right minds spend time bashing someone who is grieving? Especially when the mother more than likely is already blaming herself? It’s disgusting and one day it could happen to them and they won’t like it too much!

  3. Ruqayyah says:

    that was just plain wrong…

    I lost my son, he was stillborn back in April, and some of the most unhelpful comments have come from people who I thought were good friends. And I am sure they meant well, but I found that telling them in a gentle way that their comments were not helpful, was helpful to me. So perhaps they won’t make those same comments to someone else later down the road. Of course, sometimes there is no convincing people, but I feel like saying something is better than saying nothing at all…

    • Mama Kalila says:

      *hugs* I’m sorry…
      Some of the comments I’ve seen since I posted this I’m guessing prob fall in that category too… meaning to be helpful and just missing the mark entirely… But there’s been others that there is no way to justify, no way they were being anything but mean and… I can’t think of a nice way to continue that statement so I’ll leave it there.

Leave a Reply

