St. Nicholas Day

Happy St. Nicholas Day!

Completely off topic, but good news so I have to share. Grandpa’s surgery went well. 🙂

We had a pretty good day today… Mostly errands and all that fun stuff.  Zavier got an unexpected new food today (introduced rice yesterday) – celery.  Unplanned but neither is one I’m worried about reactions too and I doubt he really ate any of the celery lol. He loves chewing on it though.

We went for groc after lunch, I wouldn’t mention it but I got this adorable pic of Zavier reaching for the lobsters lol.

Kalila and I had a blast shopping for our cookie supplies together too. Baba & Zavier stayed outside while we got that done.. and she picked out a gift for Baba. Yeah don’t expect a 3 year old to keep a secret lol. As soon as we got outside she told him she had a surprise for him and that its a Perry the Platypus shirt. LOL

Cookies… Just made them and way too excited.  We used Catholic Cuisine again… St. Nicholas Purse Cookies.

First off, I can’t believe how easy these were to make! Placing the mini chips around the top was a bit of work, but other than that… very easy recipe.

When I saw the amount of dough I seriously had doubts about how many it would make. She says 30… It didn’t look like it would make half that. I was wrong. We managed a few more than 30 lol.

I didn’t make as many adjustments as I usually do… I even got All Purpose Flour. Gasp.  Yeah I’m bad about following my diet with that anyway… I did get it unbleached though.  I don’t know if that makes it any better, but… lol. Seriouly though, the only adjustment I made was using unbleached flour… and it doesn’t make them any darker.

I don’t have the little Pampered Chef scoop so I just rolled them into balls w/ my hands. Was a little afraid at first I wasn’t making them big enough but no…  You can see here I tested the first one before rolling the others.

Finished before cooking

And comp finished…

They’re a hit here. I’m not crazy about sugar cookies but these are good (maybe all the choc and mint?). I think I might like it more if I’d used the candy cane kisses in them… we got some of those too and they are soooo good. But these were great.

I was kinda hoping/planning for Kalila to help me but that didn’t happen lol.  She stayed walked out before I even started and then went back and forth for awhile. Yelled at me over the mixer again. Oh well. I had fun 😀  And she’s loving the cookies either way.

2 thoughts on “St. Nicholas Day

  1. Rae says:

    I’m glad the surgery went well. And I love how fully you celebrate with your kids! Kalila is no doubt making memories, even if she isn’t helping you. 🙂

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Thanks.

      As for celebrating… eh… We’re trying. The cookies were really all we did for it and she doesn’t get it yet. She’s little though and we have time 🙂

Leave a Reply

