Sandpaper Letters

I mentioned I started these awhile back right? I really need to get back to it… They are a lot easier than I thought they would be, I’ve just been very distracted lately with everything else I need to do.

I found these foam cards:

Some dye cuts:

Foam letter stickers

And of course sandpaper and glue.

I traced the letters (backwards) on the back of the sandpaper   Cut them out, just with scissors… I thought I might need the box cutter for the middle of some letters, but so far it hasn’t been needed.

Note: As you can see we got Chinese sandpaper… Didn’t see any other options where we were. For those of you who boycott… maybe you already know if this is even possible w/out going there. If not I saw some other ideas for these including gluing actual sand or glitter.

Glue them on the the foam… I added the sticker letters under and to the side for another texture/size.. And there ya go.

Obviously these are gonna wear down faster, but they were maybe $5 to make altogether… I’m not completely thrilled with the font I had to use, and think I’m going to use the ones like this blog when I make the lower case ones. I may even make a second set of capitals.. but not until lower case and numbers are done lol. The dye cuts did cut out a step though so I’m not complaining too much. Side note, that blog I linked was one of the ones that discouraged me a bit from this project.. I got the idea that it would be much harder than it is lol.

2 thoughts on “Sandpaper Letters

  1. lilzbear says:

    Probably a stupid question :)…but what are the sand letters for? To work as a blackboard?

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Not a dumb question at all 🙂 They aren’t for a blackboard, but are a teaching tool (usually used w/ the Montessori method) for learning to write. The kids trace the letters w/ their fingers.

Leave a Reply

