Words (around 16 months)

Combination of ZJ saying a new word tonight (pizza lol) and someone posting a list of words their lo is saying got me to thinking… I’m really bad at keeping track of that and thought I’d write out the ones ZJ has so far… I don’t want to lose this.

Mama, Baba, Lala (Kalila), Gido, Mumble

Baby, Kitty,  Bow (? Not sure if this counts, he uses it for both dog and bear lol)

Hello, Bye, Yeah, No, Uhuh (no), That

Yummy, Cheese, Pizza, Apple (Bopple lol), Bottle (any cup or glass with water or our soda’s)

Head, Foot, Belly, Eye, Boob (still sometimes leaves off the last b… says it for both the obvious and for anything that liquid comes out of like faucet)

Bath (baf), Phone, Remote (still momo), Diaper,

Poo (also used for pee and vomit), Boom,

What’s that,  …

I know I’m missing another two word thing he’s been saying lately… maybe a word or two too.  Either way thinking about it floors me.  And this is the one I catch myself worrying about from time to time because he doesn’t talk as much as his sister did at his age lol.  I don’t think that’s gonna happen much anymore though, he still has quiet moments (esp around others) but he’s trying to talk to us so much more now. This last week has just been crazy with that (in a good way of course).  I need to get a video soon 🙂

2 thoughts on “Words (around 16 months)

  1. Deborah says:

    That’s a pretty extensive list, to me!

    Alexa is almost 14 1/2 months old, and she says:

    Mama
    Dada
    Kitty
    Cleo (the name of one of our cats)
    Bye bye

    And I may have heard her say, once or twice (not sure yet if I heard it when she didn’t really mean it): “more” and “rabbit”

    But it’s clear that she understands way more than that, so I’m not worried about it. I think she’d talk more if she wasn’t so addicted to her pacifier … but she is, and with all the transitions she’s undergoing soon, we’re not trying to take it away yet. She’ll talk more when she’s ready, just like ZJ will catch up with Kalila when he’s ready 🙂

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Awww… How sweet! Yeah baby’s develop on their own time. I’m not actually worried about it… but I keep thinking of him being “behind” or the stereotypical boy talking later just because he’s behind where she was, when he’s really not. I have to step back and remind myself of that every once in awhile. I def wouldn’t worry about Alexa either btw… pacifier or not she’s a little ahead of schedule too (at least going by the numbers our pedi uses) 🙂

Leave a Reply

