Dublin Coddle

Or Dublin Cuddle as my phone seems to think it should be 🙂

I’ve had several people ask me about this one recently (or at least I did several weeks ago when I first tried to post this), so I figured I’d do a post.  This -> recipe linked here <- was one of the recipes we found this last “Irish Week” (week of St. Patrick’s Day).  I’d seen it online several times before but avoided it because of the pork.  Long story short (for those who don’t already know): I don’t eat pork.  Baba does.  The kids… well, there’s supposed to be a compromise between us… no pork until they’re old enough to ask. I’d rather it be understand and decide, but.. its ask.  Anyways before I step on any soapboxes I’ll end that here.  Brought up because it was why we hadn’t made it.  This last time I saw it though I decided that it really did sound good and we’d seen some turkey sausage that looked good too. And we always have turkey bacon in our house.

I’m so glad we decided to try it… Its easily become a favourite here and we’ve made it several times since… Its also a very easy recipe to make and makes a lot of food. Both good things here 🙂

I do make some adjustments though, partly because of the pork thing and partly because the recipe just needed tweaking. I’m not sure if its because of our pans or what, but the amount of liquid involved was not nearly enough. I added extra potatoes too to even things up a bit too.

Adjusted Recipe:

2 cups water

1 cube beef bullion (note: I normally just use a teaspoon or whatever of chicken, but we ran out)

1 package Turkey Bacon, cut up in about 1 inch or so pieces (not too small!)

1 package Turkey Sausage

8 potatoes, skinned and chopped

2 medium onions, peeled & sliced (note: sometimes we use one because of the size of the onions we normally get lol)

salt & pepper to taste

4 cups water

Part 1.

Boil 2 cups of water and add the bullion.  Add turkey bacon and sausage and let simmer 5 minutes.  Cut sausage into 4 or 5 pieces… Note: As you can see above I wasn’t paying attention today & cut the sausage early. It worked just as well 🙂

Part 2.

Fill bottom of dutch oven or large pan with a layer of chopped potatoes. I used 3 for this layer tonight.

Add layer of onions (one onion’s worth).

Add half of the meat.

Another layer of potatoes. I used 2 for this layer tonight.

Add a layer of onions (second onion’s worth).

Add the rest of the meat and the water it cooked in.

One last layer of potato.  I used 3 for this layer tonight.

The original recipe does not call for anymore water (in fact it used only one cup above).  Even adding a second cup above does not make enough to simmer this all in so I added 4 more cups here as well as salt & pepper.

Simmer for 1 hour.

 

8 thoughts on “Dublin Coddle

  1. […] Monday – Dublin Coddle […]

  2. […] –  Dublin Coddle x2 (one for home, one for potluck at Baba’s […]

Leave a Reply

