Car Seats & Common Sense

I have several posts I want to write but putting off for various reasons… but… instead I’m going to do another car seat one.  I know I know… but its been awhile & I need to get this one out of my head.

I’m not going to talk about how much safer rear facing is than forward, how much safer extended harnessing is than going into a booster, leaving off after market products,  car seat laws or any of that this time. I promise. This one is more about something called common sense.

Car seats come with this little thing called a manual.  It has important information in it… Like how to properly use the seat.

I can’t really lump everything in here because every seat is different.  For example, some infant carriers cannot be used, safely, in the car with the handle up while some allow it.  Height and weight limits are an obvious one.  But there are a few things that are universal.

1. While there are convertible seats that can be used both RF and FF, infant carriers are another story.  They are meant to be rear facing. Just because you can figure out a way to wedge them in facing forward does not mean you should.

2. Chest clips (the top thing that clicks together) go on the chest, not the belly.

Ok so I can really only think of 2 right now lol… Feel free to add anything I missed there.   And if you’re wondering what brought this on I did see an infant carrier (with a very small baby) forward facing the other day.  It literally left me speechless for at least 5 to 10 minutes…  😦

6 thoughts on “Car Seats & Common Sense

  1. DO NOT add things to the carseat, no strap covers no extra headrests, NO body cushions, NO bundlemes.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Very true…. I didn’t think about that being part of the manual, but it is. I did say at the beginning that I wasn’t going to go there though lol. I’ve gone off on a soapbox about that on here before 🙂

  2. deltaflute says:

    I suppose since I live in a warm climate this isn’t exactly common sense, but it’s in the manual. Don’t put them in the car seat with a heavy jacket on and then strap them in. Makes it easy for the child to move too much during a crash. Instead it says to put the jacket over the straps. I’ve seen a lot of pictures from people in cooler climates not doing that.

    And another one which I’ve encountered. Don’t put your 1.5 year old in a booster seat. Booster seats are meant for older children. Plus the 1.5 can easily get out. All they have to do is push the button on the seat belt. The girl I was babysitting, her mom handed me the booster seat and said to use it. Not thrilled about that one.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Yup… and the jacket one apparently makes a lot of people mad. And actually any type of jacket needs to be tested first. Put them in the seat with it, and then without.. if the straps are loosened by it then its a no go!

      As for the booster age, was one of the not going there items too but that gets to me as well.

  3. Steph says:

    If for some reason you’re attaching the carseat with the seatbelt instead of the latch system, don’t leave the latch belts lose around the carseat. In a crash they could fly around and severely hurt your child.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Not in manual (at least mine) but good point! That can actually happen if you are using latch and don’t pin down the belts as well. Kids have been known to strangle themselves with them too 😦 That one really surprised me when I found out.

Leave a Reply

