Bubble & Squeak

Part 2 of my bringing over recipes I had on the other blog lol.

Original recipe will be linked later… I found it online (and is linked to one of my MPM pages). Is an Irish dish that we originally tried for St. Patricks Day week and fell in love with.

1 ounce butter, margerine or bacon fat (I did not measure it this last time… just threw a chunk in and it worked fine)
1 onion finely chopped
1 lb potatoes cooked and mashed (I added milk and butter while doing so)
8 ounces boiled cabbage (I never measure)
Ground beef or lamb optional (I’ve never had it without)

My additional ingredients –
Salt
Pepper
Garlic

Melt butter in a large frying pan (seriously needs to be the biggest you’ve got), add the onion (and garlic if using it) and fry for a few minutes until softened, stirring frequently. Add the potatoes and cabbage. Add meat if using it. I add salt & pepper at this point. Fry over medium heat for about 15 minutes until brown and then serve.

Additional info – To make things easier on me… I brown the meat in the pan after softening the onions and then add potatoes and cabbage to that. Makes less dishes that way.

One thought on “Bubble & Squeak

  1. […] – Bubble & Squeak (sub kale for […]

Leave a Reply

