Return of the Bread Machine

I was so excited when we got our bread machine… I had plans to make bread every week.  Think about it… Fresh bread, no preservatives or other crap (granted you can buy bread that way but its freaking expensive), no worries about running out before the next grocery trip unless we’re out of one of the ingredients…  Not to mention I just love the idea of making our bread.   It didn’t work that way though…

I tried several of the recipes that came with my bread machine. None of them were flat out bad.  They tasted good… but we had to eat it right away or it’d go stale very quickly.  And the loaf… The size and shape was just flat out awkward.   I knew I could fix that by using the dough setting and just bake it in the oven but for some reason I put off doing so.

But then a few weeks ago we had our monthly Sams trip.   We were out of flour for the first time in months and that was at the top of my list…  Now I have mixed feelings about what happened here.  They didn’t have the flour we got last time… which comes in an insane amount.  Instead they had 20 lb bags, which I know we’ll have to replace sooner.  But… Its King Arthur brand.  I LOVE King Arthur brand flour.   Now, I wish it was the whole wheat version… but I’ll take the unbleached white if I have to (and right now we do).

I’ve used their recipes before with great results so I decided I wanted to try making another loaf a week or so ago. Actually I think it was exactly a week ago lol.  We were out of bread and a day or two away from grocery shopping so it seemed like a good time to try it.  Anyway, I figured I would try the bread machine again and do the dough setting only.   It worked really well… I’m sure mixing by hand wouldn’t be much (any?) more difficult, but its pretty convenient to just add ingredients and then go about my day… It rises in there too, so it cuts out a few extra steps as well.

End result:

We were extremely happy with it… Somehow despite the fact that we couldn’t stop eating it I managed to gauge about how long it lasts before going stale… Around 3 or 4 days (I had like 2 pieces left the last day and was starting to get a little crunchy, but not bad).  Much longer than what we’d tried before.  I’ve made several loaves since… 2 for the house and 1 for Baba to take to work.

I know I’ve already shared it before on the FB page, but I used the Classic Sandwich Bread recipe that was on the bag.  I know at some point I’d like to make their whole wheat recipe again, but this is probably the first time in a long time that I’ve enjoyed white bread.  So good recipe lol.

 

5 thoughts on “Return of the Bread Machine

  1. christy says:

    I use the dough setting on the machine and then bake my bread in the oven. I’ve been doing it for over a year, and rarely ever buy bread at the store. We love this amish white bread recipe, although it is a little sweet…
    http://allrecipes.com/recipe/amish-white-bread/

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Ooo thanks for the recipe! I’m gonna have to try that one too. I saw one like it awhile back and meant too. I wish I’d tried the dough setting/oven bit earlier on honestly… I do not miss store bread. Granted I do miss whole wheat a bit, but this is worth it.

  2. deltaflute says:

    No bread machine. I do everything by hand, which isn’t a big deal. The two recipes I’ve dealt with (I need to post about) only have you knead once and then you roll it up and stick it into the bread pan for an hour to rise and then bake it. It’s really not hard at all. One even says you don’t have to proof the yeast, but I’ve read elsewhere that it saves you a lot of hassle if you do in case the yeast has died.

    Cool to get some more ideas. I’ll have to share what I got when I have more time.

    • Mama Kalila says:

      Yeah its really not that hard to do by hand. This does take a little less time though… I’m kinda bad, I ignore mine and let it rise way longer than it says.. but it works out well for me lol.

      Would love more recipes though! I think next week I’m gonna tackle soda bread.

      • deltaflute says:

        From what I’ve read the dough will have a certain point where it stops rising because the yeast runs out of things to eat. So I don’t think there really is any problem ignoring it’s rising. You can also put it in the fridge and let it rise slowly since cold keeps it more dormant.

Leave a Reply

