Menu Adjustment

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on here since we started doing this, but Baba and I changed the way we’re planning our meals lately.  I think its been about a month now and so far its been working great.  Basically what we’re doing is sitting down Weds night and planning out what we want to do for the next week (instead of me doing it by myself and last minute) and making a grocery list right then.  He gets paid Thursdays so after work he runs to the store and picks up what’s on the list… It saves a lot of time if nothing else lol.

When we did our last menu we talked about doing a veggie casserole tonight.  He picked up several vegetables that he thought would be good, but then mentioned he’d rather have beef & veggie kabobs. That worked with them too and we have the meat… Menu wasn’t posted on here or on my calendar yet so we switched gears and decided to do that.

But then he got over time today at the last minute… So I went back to my original plan and I am so glad I did!  I sat down and found this Layered Zucchini and Yellow Squash Casserole recipe.  And it turned out great…

I did make a few adjustments… 3 of the squash and zucchini instead of two, cheese in between each layer (and extra on top), and used one portobello mushroom instead of a cup of the others.

Have to add… the kids balked a bit at first.  We don’t have a lot of “pickyness” issues here squash and zucchini have been issues before, especially zucchini. Kalila’s gotten to the point she’ll do stuffed squash at Church but that’s about it.  ZJ ate both though and Kalila ate all her squash and took a few bites of zucchini.

2 thoughts on “Menu Adjustment

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Kids and veggies can be a challenge

Leave a Reply

